SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE I AM ON THE OUTSIDE LOOKING IN!

IM NOT MOANING IM JUST FED UP!

Well Xmas is around the corner and as usual I have started with26284-are-you-living-or-are-you-watching-other-people-live_325x325_width another chest infection! This is really doing my head in this time, am so sick of being ill at Xmas.

So instead of feeling sorry for myself I am taking my antibiotics on time, which took a bit of getting, as I ordered them on Friday having just used my back up. After phoning them three times today I eventually received a message that the prescription was waiting for me. Well, I wasn’t going to go in as my breathing was too compromised but the prescription delivery service just managed to get them in time, thank goodness. So mission on, lets see how good I can get in a few days.

My trip to Scarborough was quite nice, I met my son and gave him his Xmas present which he loved, I got him a smart phone and he was completely delighted with it, so that was a hit. Its horrible buying unsuitable and useless presents so that made my day.

I also met my friend whom I love but was dismayed when she started04ed7-blogg going on about the cost of funerals and the importance of having a plan and a will which upset me a bit.  Why do people think that you are going to die with this illness all the time. As I have mentioned in some of my other posts we are more likely to die with it than of it. Well as long as you stop smoking and take all the good advice that can be found out there and manage your illness well, which I hope that I am doing, I should live for a good few years yet.

“It’s time to stop counseling patients who have quit smoking that COPD is a progressive and terminal disease. Many patients are under the impression that they are steadily dying of emphysema; unless it’s obvious that they are, physicians should re-educate them in light of the new findings in this and recent papers, which create space for optimism in the prognosis of COPD. Such a positive counseling approach might improve the mood, attitude and quality of life of people living with COPD (and — dare I hope? — help them increase their activity levels).”

(A quote from the British Lung Foundation)

COPD is not always progressive as this piece of research done proves. It is a study following over 2,000 patients of varying severity for 3 years.   COPD is not always progressive!

In addition to the plethora of articles on the subject, there is the living evidence staring us in the face – many people with copd for the past 20 or 30 years are still active in their 80’s.

Its making the most of your life, being positive and managing your illness. COPD is no different from any other chronic disease such as Heart Disease, Diabetes etc its up to you how well you are!

SO HEY HO AND A MERRY XMAS TO ALL

lw33wrvhgbawxbf6268x

One thought on “SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE I AM ON THE OUTSIDE LOOKING IN!

  1. Well said Gina. We will have a relatively good life if we do all the things we are told. It’s understandable about your friend thinking this is the end. People don’t know anything about this illness. Time it was out there to the public so they know what copd is all about instead of assuming. That’s if they have heard of it at all . You take care x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

