THERAPIES THAT CAN HELP

Salt Caves

salt-cave-423396

Quite a lot of people swear by these and one of the members of a Facebook COPD site was featured in the following video, explaining how it had helped him. When I can find one nearby I am going to have a go.

The following site has quite a lot of information if you are wondering if you might start going to one as part of your new year healthy promise.

About Salt Caves (click to find more info)

Below is the video explaining how the salt caves had helped this members COPD

But My Favorite Therapy at The Moment is Reiki – You cannot beat it for destressing

Reiki – This Really Helps Me

Reiki is – a healing technique based on the principle that the therapist can channel energy into the patient by means of touch to activate the natural healing process of the patients body and restore physical and emotional well-being and I loved it!  

I didn’t know what to expect at first as I didn’t quite understand what this was all about. And, you don’t until you actually experience it. I laid on the bed in this dimly lit room and my – don’t exactly know what to call the young lady that did it, I can refer to her for the purpose of this post as my Therapist – put warm towels on my feet and placed a favourite sent of mine (lemon) on my chest, put on some background music which sounded strangely oriental and started the procedure by placing her hands on my neck. And no she didn’t try to strangle me as some people would like to!  It was a very odd experience she just placed her hands one on either side of my neck and left them there for quite a long time. It was very relaxing, after a while her hands changed to another position (on my head), then back to the neck.

Finally after about 30 mins she moved down my legs to my feet. At the end of the session I felt very, very relaxed. I also felt tired and came home and went straight to sleep for about 3 hours. I don’t know if you are supposed to do that but that was the effect it had on me.I have booked another appointment for next week and am really looking forward to my next session. I am also researching it to find out exactly what it can do and if I can help myself I found a good site – Hand Positions this site explains the process very well and the following video gives you the initial skills to make a start yourself –

Today was a very successful day I  totally enjoyed my Reiki and I also found out that the British Lung Foundation had agreed to start a Breathe Easy group in Huddersfield. This will be a great help to all my fellow sufferers as knowledge about this illness and exercise are both vital elements to living a longer more fuller life. I asked about the British Lung Foundation having a group in the area some months ago. They informed me that a venue would have to be provided  ‘free’ and there would have to be access to clients to make the group a success of course. I mentioned my ideas to the Kirklees Hospice and very kindly they offered a room and their client list! Just can’t wait to get this group off the ground.

To be continued …..

Leave a Reply

